Sergio Garcia disqualified for damaging greens at Saudi International

Sergio Garcia was sensationally disqualified from the European Tour’s Saudi International for “serious misconduct”, after damaging more than one green¬†in frustration.

Garcia completed a one-over 71 in his third round, leaving him level par and 16 off the pace set by Dustin Johnson and Li Haotong, who recorded an incredible four eagles on Saturday.

However, the Spaniard was then found to be in breach of rule 1.2a, which allows for disqualification if a player has committed serious misconduct.

In a brief statement on the European Tour’s official website, Garcia admitted his¬†wrongdoing and accepted the decision to remove him from the tournament.

“I respect the decision of my disqualification,” said the 2017 Masters champion.

“In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again.”